The Sacraments

The Sacraments are defined as outward signs of inward grace, instituted by Christ to help individuals in their spiritual life and to grow in holiness. The Catholic Church celebrates seven Sacraments, which nourish, strengthen, and express faith.


Baptism, the first sacrament, is the purifying and sanctifying sacrament of rebirth and the means by which its recipients are incorporated into the Church in a bond of unity.

Baptism is the sacrament that frees a person from original sin and makes that person a member of Christ and His Church, thus being the way to a new and spiritual life. One must be baptized before sharing in any of the other sacraments.

Baptism is offered the second Sunday of the month at 12:30 p.m.


The sacrament of penance is one of two sacraments of healing. It is the sacrament that brings spiritual healing for Catholics who have distanced themselves from God by committing sins.
There are four elements involved:

  • the penitent’s contrition for sin
  • confession to a priest
  • absolution by the priest
  • satisfaction

Religious education classes take place for students in first and second grade on Tuesdays at 4 p.m. Confession is held 3:45 to 4:15 p.m. every Saturday. 

First Communion

The Eucharist is the sacrament by which Catholics receive the Body and Blood of Jesus Christ. The bread and wine used in the Mass are transformed in all but appearance into the Body and Blood of Christ.

As children reach second grade, the Church extends to them an invitation to celebrate the sacrament of Eucharist. Religious education classes take place for students in first and second grade on Tuesdays at 4 p.m.


Confirmation is one of the sacraments of initiation, along with Baptism and Eucharist. Confirmation is the sacrament of maturity and coming of age. It is conferred by the anointing of Chrism oil and the laying on of hands by the Bishop.

Through this sacrament, we confirm the presence of the baptismal gifts we have already received; we are sealed with the undeserved and unearned gift of the Holy Spirit.

Religious education classes take place for students 9th and 10th grade on Sundays at 7 p.m.



Matrimony  is a sacrament that consecrates for a particular mission in building up the Church. It is seen as a sign of the love between Christ and the Church, which is established between spouses in a permanent and exclusive bond, sealed by God. The Sacrament gives couples the grace they need to attain holiness in their married life and for responsible acceptance and upbringing of their children.

The matrimonial covenant, by which a man and a woman establish between themselves a partnership for the whole of life, is by its nature ordered toward the good of the spouses and the procreation and education of offspring. Couples who are looking to be married in the church must contact  the church at least six months prior.